Why Take the Exam?

PLIDA Certification is recognized in Italy and Europe in order to:

  • file for the Italian citizenship based on marriage to an Italian citizen (minimum requirement: level B1)
  • request a long term residence permit for Italy (minimum requirement: level A2)
  • enroll in Italian universities without sitting an entry exam (levels B2, C1 or C2, depending on the university and faculty requirements)
  • show proof of your level of knowledge of the Italian language on your curriculum vitae.

Who Can Register?

PLIDA Certification is designed for people whose mother tongue is not Italian.

PLIDA exams are open to all those who want to assess their linguistic skills in Italian and obtain an official certificate. Candidates can choose to challenge the level that they believe most closely matches their skill level; it is not necessary to have taken examinations at lower levels in order to enroll for a given level. Examinations can be taken during the same session for more than one level. 

Examinations are open to all; however, it is advisable to contact the school office in advance for information regarding preparation for the examination.

Please download the REGISTRATION FORM

The PLIDA Test: Structure and Levels

The PLIDA Certification Test is designed to test candidates' skills in four areas: Ascoltare (Listening), Leggere (Reading), Parlare (Speaking) and Scrivere (Writing). The time schedule depends on the level of the test.

The oral tests (Parlare) are usually held on the same day of the written tests. Link to exam timetable

For more information about the exam structure, please visit: Com'e' fatto il test

Examples of PLIDA Tests: download here

Examination sessions

Certification Tests are scheduled twice a year and take place on predetermined dates which apply to all Certification Centers all over the world, and are subject to a minimum enrollment. 

ORIENTATION CLASSES are organized and scheduled in preparation for the PLIDA Certification Tests.

Passing the examination, marks
For each skill, marks are expressed in terms of a maximum of 30. 

To be successful at the examination, the candidate must obtain a pass mark (minimum 18/30) in each of the four skills (listening, reading, speaking and writing). The minimum overall score for a pass in the examination is therefore 72/120, while the maximum possible score is 120/120. 

A candidate who obtains a pass mark in at least one of the four skills obtains a credit in that area. This credit can be used within the following 18 months in order to try again the test that had not previously been passed (thus eliminating the need to redo that component, and the whole exam).

Examination results and certificate issue

Examination papers are sent from the various Certification Centres to the Central Offices in Rome, where they are marked and evaluated within sixty days from the date of receipt.

The Central Office sends Certificates for all the candidates who pass the examination.
The Certificate indicates the candidate’s details, the level, the marks obtained in the

four language skills, and the overall mark.

Candidates personal data are used solely for certificate issue, and these data will not

be published in any form in accordance with Italian privacy legislation (law 675/96).


For any additional information, please write to info@dantesocietybc.ca
or contact the local PLIDA coordinators: Monica Liscio monica.liscio@ubc.ca or Silvia Giabardo silviagiabardo@gmail.com

If you wish to speak to one of the coordinators, please write to either of them to arrange an appointment over the phone.

Please note: the ITALIAN CHAMBER OF COMMERCE in Canada West, partner with the Dante Society of BC in the administration of the language courses, is not involved in the PLIDA certification and does not provide any information about the tests.

PLIDA Certification – Test your Italian! 

PLIDA - Progetto Lingua Italiana Dante Alighieri

PLIDA Certification Tests are designed by the scientific team of the Dante Alighieri Society and assess Italian as a foreign or second language. Every year thousands of candidates throughout the world test their language competence and obtain the PLIDA Certificate, which is recognized by the Italian Government and accepted globally.

PLIDA Certification evaluates skills in Italian as a foreign language according to a six-tier scale, from A1 to C2 in ascending order of difficulty, corresponding to the levels established by the European Council (Modern languages division: cf. Quadro comune europeo di riferimento per le lingue: apprendimento, insegnamento, valutazione – Common European Framework of Reference for Languages: learning, teaching, evaluation, published in Milan by La Nuova Italia – Oxford, 2002).

  • Level of Italian - Beginners

        PLIDA Certification A1 - Initial Contact
        PLIDA Certification A2 - Survival

  • Level of iItalian - Foundation

        PLIDA Certification B1 - Threshold
        PLIDA Certification B2 - Progress

  • Level of Italian - Professional

        PLIDA Certification C1 - Efficacy
        PLIDA Certification C2 – Mastery

The Dante Alighieri Society of British Columbia

 For the promotion of Italian language and culture