top of page
Logo-Presidi Letterari-Completo.jpeg
Screenshot 2023-04-12 at 2.27.30 PM.png

The Strega Prize is the most important Italian literary award since 1947. Each year it honours

the best work of prose fiction written in the Italian language by an author of any nationality.

The Dante Alighieri Society of BC

has been nominated Literary Presidium of the Strega Prize 2023.

If you would like to know what being a Literary Presidium means, click here. 


Find here the list of the 5 finalists for the 2023 edition


The juries of the Dante Societies around the world, including the chapter of the  

Dante Society of BC in Vancouver, have cast their vote to determine the winner of

the Strega Literary Prize for Dante 

The winner of the Dante Society's worldwide literary presidia for the 2023 edition is 

Rosella Postorino with her book Mi limitavo ad amare te (Feltrinelli).


Postorino will present her book and receive her award in Florence

on June 28 at 5.00 pm (Italian time), 8.00 am (Vancouver time)

in an event that will be streamed on Zoom for those interested in attending from abroad. 

Link to the event in streaming via Zoom

Screenshot 2023-06-26 at 2.22.06 PM.png

Italy's winner of the 2023 Strega Prize
was Ada D’Adamo, Come d’aria (Elliot)

Screenshot 2023-04-12 at 2.27.30 PM.png

...What is the Strega Prize?

The Strega Prize originated in Italy in 1944 as a literary salon in Rome, at its original founders' home, Maria and Goffredo Bellonci.

These were Sunday gatherings of writers, artists and intellectuals, some of the most notable figures of the Italian cultural life. The group became known as the Amici della Domenica, or ‘Sunday Friends’. In 1947 Guido Alberti, owner of the firm producing the iconic yellow 

Strega liqueur, joined the Belloncis, to sponsor a prize for fiction, the winner being chosen by the Sunday friends.

This intellectual institution continued throughout the years, becoming the most honorable literary prize in Italy ever since.

Every year, the best prose writer is nominated for the award: the first writer to receive such a prize was Ennio Flaiano with the novel 

Tempo di Uccidere (The Short Cut); the first woman-writer was Elsa Morante in 1957, with L'Isola di Arturo (Arturo's Island).  

To learn more about the winning titles nominated throughout the years click here

The selection is based on the votes of 400 individuals, still called Amici della domenica. Each member selects three of the twelve titles that

they liked the most and only 5 books can become the finalists. The last round of votes determines the final winner of the the Strega Prize! 

This year for the first time, The Dante Alighieri Society of BC has become a Literary Presidium, an active part of the Amici della domenica committee and will be contributing to the nomination of the 2021 Strega Prize winner! 

bottom of page